Key and lock adventures

I tend to get into adventures quite often and the funniest of them usually involve keys and locks. I am going to share the two most amusing stories with you. These have no age restriction and have nothing to do with S&M :).

1. Story of a nerd: Deadly locked

This curious accident happened to me in 2005 when I still was a university student. The research institute where my mother worked was located in the neighbourhood of my university, and from time to time I used to pass for her after lectures. Once I came to her room after lectures, took a book and focused on the assignment (the deadline was approaching with the speed of light). Mum walked in and asked me to bring keys to her colleague whose room was located in the other end of the corridor. The corridor was long and dark, two large windows, one in each side of it, were the only source of light during the day. Doors on both sides of the corridor were placed in a niche, what made them hidden from light even more – quite a scary corridor it was, perfect for thriller movies. I had walked in that corridor a million times but had never paid attention on the door numbers. There was a feeling as if I saw these doors for the first time in my life, and I suddenly noticed they all could be opened from the left side.

Finally, I stopped in front of the room I needed to enter and, bearing in mind that all the previous doors were left-sided, started searching for a handle. Nothing. My hand went all the way along the door side and sensed nothing, not even a lock. “How do they open this fucking door themselves?! There must be a way.” – I thought and continued. I dipped my fingertips in the chink and tried to pull the door – failure. I could hear women talking inside the room, the noise of my manipulation with the door attracted their attention – the conversation paused. “OK, I don’t know how on Earth anyone can open a door without a handle, tightly fit to a door frame! And if they heard me anyway, then I can ask them to open the door from the inside” were my thoughts when I knocked on the door. “Come in!” – said a woman. “Are you kidding me?!”- I though and said “Can you please open the door because I cannot do so myself!”. In the next few moments I remained quite … amazed and confused at the same time. The girl opened the door … from the right side. Next few moments we stayed curiously looking at each other before the girl wondered what was so difficult about opening the door. “We thought you were holding something fragile in your hands”. “Ah, I see. And I was trying to open from the other side”- said I and laughed. Mum’s colleague was famous for her sharp sarcasm and nasty jokes but this time she did not find anything to say. Instead, she stared at me silently and I could read the message in her eyes “You are studying too much, girl!”. I would love to know myself why trying to find a handle on the other side did not cross my mind :).

2. Story of a hero: Munich wanderer

December pre-Christmas weeks remind me of another adventure of the same kind. In 2010, two weeks before Christmas me and my ex partner went to Munich, the first week was dedicated to his business trip whereas the second week was all for fun and culture. We stayed at a tiny studio apartment of his friend at the centre of Munich, the place with central heating means paradise for me, by default. On the first day of our stay in Munich he mentioned where his office was going to be as we passed by the district in a tram. I had a glimpse at the two towers and continued exploring lovely Munich streets from the tram window.

The next day I planned to familiarise myself with Munich museums, so soon after my partner left to work, I was prepared for a lovely day at Munich museums. There was a small thing to do before locking the door – taking garbage bag out to the corridor. All in perfect mood, humming a song, I opened the door, stepped into the corridor, dropped the garbage bag and turned to lock the door… The door had silently snapped and, most certainly, the key was left in the lock, inside the apartment! For a second I stupidly stared at the door, pushing it just in case. Then, hectically started searching for the key in my bag, which was perfectly senseless and stupid as the key could not be there. The old motto “Don’t panic!” tried to calm me down but thoughts were already jumping from one matter to another. “How can I get inside? What will I tell the neighbours, they have never seen me before? The key is in the lock, how can we open this fucking door without damaging it?! What will I tell my partner, he’s going to kill me?!”. Prostration. Few moments later I noticed two ladies looking at me with growing curiosity. I told them about the accident and they advised to the building manager. The manager listened to me with an attention, trying to hide a smile, and told me that, obviously, he had spare keys but could not give it to me and, moreover, he doubted the door could be opened with a key. He advised to call a handy man specializing on such accidents, expressed his condolences and got busy with some other matters. I needed to let my partner know as soon as possible. Going down the stairs I tried to find my mobile and realised I left it charging! Damn! Few stories down I met a lady who guessed something was wrong and tried to help. She was going to dial the number but I did not remember his Munich number by heart. “Excellent”!”- I though, “Perfect adventure”.

There was no choice other than trying to find his office. I had a glimpse at the towers on the previous day, and it was somewhere not very far. But how to find it?.. Trying to restore our route, I realised the metro station was “Ostbanhnhof”. To get there I needed to take two trams, then from the station itself, I would take another tram and then walked a bit. The towers were found – hallelujah! But where exactly his office was – I did not know. The receptionist had all the information and she gallantly agreed to call to my partner’s office and notify him about my presence. “What is his surname, please?” – she asked me. I told her. “And what is yours?”. Guess, our surnames together seemed too complicated, she did not want to nod her tongue. “Do you want to go there yourself?”. Yes, I did. The towers were interlinked by glass corridors, on some 15th floor, different parts of the building were locked – a perfect labyrinth. Passing through some corridors required a cardkey but I managed to pass without it – Bavarian gentlemen politely opened the door to let the lady pass. Eventually, I got to the office of my partner. His colleagues and he were equally surprised by the accident and the fact that I managed to get to that office. Their surprise was very strong and could be explained – second day in the perfectly unknown city, passed through security obstacles with no problems. Then my nationality was linked to KGB and that explained everything. Russians (read “KGB”) get anywhere they need to. A person who had spare key for the apartment was on leave and, besides, everyone agreed that the key stuck in the lock was too bad. The story seemed like an adventure to everyone, many remembered stories of same kind and gladly shared their experiences. They equipped me with a screwdriver and instructed how to remove the lock cover and to push the lock. All that was in vain since the lock was fastened to the door from the inside (realized that when arrived to the disastrous door). Again, I had to call to my partner’s office (thankfully, he provided me with a mobile) and ask to send some handy man. The handy man arrived very soon, said many words in German (“Kaput” was the only I understood) and opened the door in a minute… leaving a quite visible hole in it and charging me a serious amount of money.

The rest of the day was quite wonderful though – exploring the city centre, museums and taking photos.

Kunstareal, I saw a guy surfing on icying cold Isar waters
Walking around Kunstareal, I saw a guy surfing on icing cold Isar waters
2 thoughts on “Key and lock adventures

Leave a Reply

